Explore the development
Set around a large central green shaded by 350 year old oak trees, Broadoaks Park has been designed with community living in mind.
The original Grade II Listed Broadoaks Mansion, which will be carefully restored and converted into high quality accommodation, creates a striking entrance to the new development, with the adjoining lodges, coach house and ornamental gardens projecting Broadoaks Park’s rich history.
The surrounding new build homes have been sympathetically designed to complement the 19th century architecture, offering contemporary living within meticulously landscaped grounds.
The Finest Materials
Octagon have an unrivalled reputation for creating classical homes using the finest contemporary materials – and the interiors are no exception.
Homes at Broadoaks Park feature the highest standard of finishes, with high quality appliances, sanitaryware and specification throughout, as befitting the Octagon brand.
Bespoke kitchens house lacquer finished cabinets with quartz work surface, a full range of Siemens appliances and boiling water hot tap, whilst the impressive bathrooms include white sanitaryware by Villeroy & Boch, finished with polished chrome fittings.
High-tech additions include whole house ventilation, RAKO mood lighting controls, automated garage doors and underfloor heating.
Descending from a long-distinguished line of Scottish architects responsible for building large areas of Belgravia, from Eaton Square to Wilton Crescent, Ernest Seth-Smith designed Broadoaks Mansion and grounds as the ultimate country retreat in 1876, for his elder brother Charles Edward.
Charles and Ernest’s cousin, William Howard Seth Smith (1852-1928) was also an architect, who went on to design many buildings in the London and Surrey area. This Surrey connection, and the location of their family home at Silvermere, in Cobham, just a stone’s throw away from Broadoaks, may well have influenced Charles Edward’s desire for a country house nearby.
The mansion was substantially extended between 1905 and 1906 under the ownership of the wealthy industrialist and patron of the arts, Sir Charles Tennant, who, after passing away in 1907, left the house and grounds to his wife Marguerite, who later married a Major Geoffrey Lubbock.
While many alterations have been made over the years, the form of the original 1876 mansion house can still be seen to this day, which is set to be carefully restored to its former glory by Octagon’s specialist in-house team.
Further historic buildings include the Grade II listed former Model Dairy and associated ancillary curtilage listed buildings, including the East and West Lodges. The surrounding lodges and summer houses were added later over the following 40 years, adding further gravitas and character to the site.